Task 5 – Dimension Gateway – Research

Finally, i now know what task 5 is and I have to say, I am excited and happy with this project. To create and design my very own Dimension Gateway is like one of the best things that Chris could have picked for us and I’m happy. This really allows me to test out my designs and allows me to be creative. Not to mention that the triangle count is 4000, the resolution can’t go over 2048 x 2048 and it lasts for 8 weeks (including 3 week holiday). This is a much bigger budget than the Art test and I’m happy about that as it will allow me to go into a lot of detail for the design of my Dimension Gateway.

Now to start off I did some research. I went and looked at many different games and concept art from those games to see other people’s representation of what they thought Gateways looked like. In doing so, I kept the theme of sci-fi in my mind the whole time while researching because I wanted to set my scene and Dimension Gateway in the future. Now I chose the theme of sci-fi because I hadn’t had a chance yet to do any work in sci-fi in a long time (the Cathedral project I did sci-fi) and I love doing sci-fi because it’s slick, smooth and I just love it.

I looked at the art for Halo and tried to look at the design and style of its creations and concept art to get a better understanding of sci-fi design and the amount of detail. I managed to get lots of good images and designs of Halo creations which then lead me to some artists who worked on the Halo designs of which I had a closer look at on Art station “Jihoon Kim” and “Albee Ng”. Both of them created stunning concept art and 3D models for Halo which I found interesting with the detail and colour choice used. I put these together to create a mood board so I could look back at for inspiration.

Halo Mood Board

I next looked at another game for some more sci-fi inspiration. I looked at the game “Titanfall” and took in the designs and style of the game. Similar to Halo, this game takes a sci-fi approach but adds a more military theme to it where as Halo had some military to it, it focused more on alien technology and alien worlds. This also had an artist which I found interesting and I also had a look at on Art Station “Danny Gardner”. I placed some of his work and some Titanfall concept art into a mood board.

Tittanfall 2 Mood Board

I next had a deeper look into the design of sci-fi buildings and interior designs. Now it’s not too important that I have a full scene for this project but I would like to because it would show my commitment and passion for this line of work and it would make my project look better. But I do have to put my main focus on the main Dimension Gateway, yet I still wanted to have a look at some designs and I gathered them all together and placed them on a mood board.

Sci-fi Structure Design

I next had a look at some designs of spaceships as with some of the ideas in my head, having the gateway mobile and in space is a potentially ideal idea for this task. I don’t know if I’ll use it yet but I’m still willing to keep a mood board for it just in case I decided to go with this idea instead. The idea is that the spaceship or station carries a tube similar to the gateways we’ve seen in Stargate as part of the ship where space crafts can enter through to another dimension. I choose multiple designs of spaceships which I thought could work for this idea and for inspiration.

Spaceship Mood Board

I lastly looked at an Environmental Artist called “Gregoire De Coatparquet” on Art station and had a look at some of his work. Now I took interest into some of his designs of his 3D models and the way he detailed them. I love his work and how he has made them metallic but also slick with a sci-fi look to them. It’s just grating to look at for inspiration and ideas for the Dimension Gateway. So I gathered them together into a mood board as well (This is the last mood board, I promise).

Gregorire De Coatparquet Mood Board

I also gather a huge reference library of images from other games like; Doom, Mass effect, No man’s sky, and portal. Along with images from current technology so that I wouldn’t always be relying on concept art and 3D models. And with this, I think that I have done plenty research and is ready for concept art Designs of what my Dimension Gateway could look like.

Leave a Reply

